Statement from Citizens for the Extension of the James Zadroga Act on the introduction of the Bi-Partisan “9/11 Responder and Survivor Health Funding Correction Act”


Posted: August 9, 2021


Benjamin Chevat

Maloney, Nadler, Garbarino, and Gillibrand, Schumer Introduce Legislation to Deal with the Impending Funding Shortfall Facing the World Trade Center Health Program.

WASHINGTON, DC – Citizens for the Extension of the James Zadroga Act Inc. applauded the introduction of the “9/11 Responder and Survivor Health Funding Correction Act,” which addresses the impending funding shortfall facing the World Trade Center Health Program (WTCHP).

This bipartisan legislation– introduced by Reps. Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), and Andrew Garbarino (R-NY) in the House along with the entire New York Congressional Delegation and U.S. Senators Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY) and Charles Schumer (D-NY) in the Senate — would close the impending budget gap in the WTCHP so that it can continue to provide Medical treatment and monitoring to the over 100,000 responders and survivors impacted by the toxins at Ground Zero as well as those injured at the Pentagon and the Shanksville crash site. All but the freshman Garbarino were original lead sponsors of the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act, which passed in 2010.

Benjamin Chevat, Executive Director of Citizens for the Extension of the James Zadroga Act said, “These members of Congress have kept faith with the pledge to ‘Never Forget’ and their action today is a testament to their determination– ensuring that those injured and dealing with the impact of the toxins at Ground Zero continue to be cared for as the nation approaches the 20th Anniversary of the attacks. We urge everyone who wants to make sure the country does NOT forget to call their member of Congress and urge them to join in this effort.”

The lead sponsors were joined in introducing the bill by Reps. Tom Suozzi (D-NY), Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), Grace Meng (D-NY), Nydia Velázquez (D-NY), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Nicole Malliotakis (R-NY), Ritchie Torres (D-NY), Bill Pascrell Jr. (D-NJ), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), Albio Sires (D-NJ), Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ), Paul Tonko (D-NY), Yvette Clarke (D-NY), Brian Higgins (D-NY), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Chris Jacobs (R-NY), Lee Zeldin (R-NY), Jahana Hayes (D-CT), David McKinley (R-WV), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), Jeff Van Drew (R-NJ), Jim Himes (D-CT), Chris Smith (R-NJ), Elise Stefanik (R-NY), Don Bacon (R-NE), Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), John Katko (R-NY), Joe Morelle (D-NY), David Joyce (R-OH), Kathleen Rice (D-NY), Antonio Delgado (D-NY), Tom Reed (R-NY), Jamaal Bowman (D-NY), Gregory Meeks (D-NY), Mondaire Jones (D-NY), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY), and Claudia Tenney (R-NY), and Senators, Menendez (D-NJ), Booker (D-NJ), Murphy (D-CT), and Blumenthal (D-CT).

As the members of Congress stated in their press release: “Today, the WTCHP provides medical treatment and monitoring for over 100,000 responders and survivors from the World Trade Center and lower Manhattan, the Pentagon, and the Shanksville, PA crash site, who live in every state and in 434 out of 435 Congressional Districts. While Congress extended the program to 2090, the funding needs of the WTCHP exceed the current funding formula. Because of that, in the coming years, the WTCHP will not have sufficient funds to provide care for all those still suffering the physical and mental impacts of 9/11. This includes responders and survivors who will be newly diagnosed with 9/11-associated cancers caused by their toxic exposures.”